Walking Far from Home

I walked for two hours this morning down Ala Moana, all the way to Diamondhead and back, recognizing my own humanity more fully in the uncomfortable half-smiles I shared with the various passers-by; we’re all tourists here, far from home and co-owners of nothing. In the process of recognizing this, I found some amazing sights, however.

I decided after walking down this pier that I’m over the whole “house” thing. I need to sell all my things, buy a boat, and embrace that nomadic part of myself I’ve always tried to hide…

 

Even after walking alone for two hours, I couldn’t think of anything insightful or worthwhile to write about for this week’s post, so instead I decided just to stick with pictures, and hope they say enough.

Also, I passed a man lopping branches off a palm tree, and had to take a picture – just because the thought of having to prune island trees never even occurred to me.

Anyway, it’s time to see if I can coerce Rose into going to the beach with me in the few hours I have before work. Hopefully inspiration for next Tuesday’s post will strike, and I’ll actually have something interesting to write about.

CJB

This entry was published on June 5, 2012 at 18:29 and is filed under Photography, Portfolio, Travel. Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

4 thoughts on “Walking Far from Home

  1. I love the catamaran boat in the first picture!

  2. The pictures do speak for themselves! It all looks wonderful.

    I’m curious as to what a palm tree looks like if it isn’t pruned. It doesn’t have that windswept aesthetic?

    How’s life going generally? Reading anything cool?

Leave a Reply

