A Beach Like Any Other

I feel obligated to begin this post with the expected “Aloha,” as Hawaii is to be my new home for the next few months. The flight in was tedious, not just because it took thirteen hours in an airport to get here, but because each hour marked another increment on the excitement scale; and then I had to sit still the whole time by an overly adorable Indian couple who brought their own curry lunch with them, and that just made me miss Irving. That was a run-on sentence. Regardless, this is the view from my new room:

And this is from the living room:

Rose and I decided to go for a walk after dinner. We talked of many things: of shoes–and ships–and sealing-wax–of cabbages–and kings–and why the sea is boiling hot–and whether pigs have wings. Except really we mostly just caught up on the last four years, since I’ve been away at school and everything. It’s strange when your smallest siblings grow up. I’m not sure how I feel about it yet. Still, we found some amazing spots:

Tomorrow the adventuring begins. The problem with being here, though, is that I can’t get it into my head that I actually have left Dallas permanently. This just feels like a vacation to me. I need to get to work. It started setting in, the definitive transition into post-Texan life, but I think I’m coping with separation by blocking it out…again. Tea and sleep might help. Aloha.

CJB

This entry was published on June 2, 2012 at 01:47. It’s filed under Photography, Prattle and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

5 thoughts on “A Beach Like Any Other

  1. That place is gorgeous! IS it just you and Rose living there or did the whole family move with y’all?

  2. these pictures are so astonishingly normal. i don’t think i ever realized that hawaii is a real place.

    • That’s exactly what I’ve been thinking ever since I got here! It’s just a normal city. Flying in it was a normal airport. It’s a normal place, like any other state. But somehow I like it better for that.

  3. Mollie on said:

    Around here you’ll find “Aloha” isn’t cliché at all, since this is where it belongs!

Leave a Reply

