Capstones and Particle Board

Strange, looking back when it’s all over. In the moment, this year – these four years, even – seemed to go by so slowly, and now that they’re over I feel as though I didn’t even have a chance to appreciate them properly. I think I now know what childbearing must be like now. Or something. Labor, at least. That said, I thought it fitting to show the final moments of my undergraduate gestation period.

Image

It was such a fulfilling thing, taking this space and transforming it into somewhere entirely new, somewhere separate.

Image

So much work, crammed into so little time, and yet somehow it all came together. I don’t even know how it happened. Adrenaline is a real thing, guys.

Image

Image

Image

I’ve uploaded more photos of the installation to my website (www.cargocollective.com/cjbarchived), but this gives an idea of the spacial transformation. I’m not entirely sure what to say about any of this. I’ll have to come back and re-write later. All I know is that this has been the most incredible experience of my life, and I’m grateful to have been given the opportunity to produce this body of work. On to greater things now.

CJB

This entry was published on May 14, 2012 at 15:05. It’s filed under Prattle and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

6 thoughts on “Capstones and Particle Board

  1. This is a comment to the admin. I came to your “Capstones and Particle Board carriebaker[archived]” page via Google but it was hard to find as you were not on the first page of search results. I see you could have more traffic because there are not many comments on your website yet. I have found a website which offers to dramatically increase your rankings and traffic to your website: http://www.linklegends.com/free-trial. I managed to get close to 1000 visitors/day using their services, you could also get lot more targeted traffic from search engines than you have now. Their free trial and brought significantly more traffic to my site. Hope this helps :) Take care.

  2. josephttcunningham on said:

    Carrie B, this is fantastic. Well done. Please write more – I would love to know your thoughts behind the exhibit, what inspired it, the expression and its atmosphere.

  3. josephttcunningham on said:

    Carrie B., this is fantastic. Please write more soon – I would love to learn your thoughts behind the exhibit, what intellectual bread crumbs guided it from start to finish, its expression and the kind of atmosphere or feel or experience you hoped to achieve for the viewers.

    • Thanks, Joe! I’ll write more as soon as I can – it’s just a little overwhelming, the amount I could write about the completion of this show. I hope you’re doing well!

  4. That’s an awesome collection of photos!

    I probably should write up something on appreciating one’s undergraduate years. It’s tough no matter what – the time does go by fast, and the amount you’re accountable for versus the amount you actually learn versus the amount you take to heart… well, let’s just say there were classes I had forgotten entirely when senior year came around. It’s tricky to track and maybe understand a little bit one’s own progress.

    It really helps to have people around that saw you grow and take an interest in that growth. It’s no exaggeration to say they have pieces of what’s relevant, even if they don’t know it yet.

Leave a Reply

